So I attended my very first NASCAR event on Sunday. The weather was great and I had the opportunity to spend the day with Grand Jack.
I was amazed at the track, the people, and the sound of the cars. TV does no justice to show just how fast those cars really go.
The day started out as usual. We did leave the house by 9am. But after having to go to my office to get a soft sided cooler, then to the Cook's house to borrow a camera, and in typical Thomas fashion, Jack and I had to come back to the house because....I forgot the tickets. So we hit I-81 by 9:40.
Good drive up. Made there by 11:30. Got all of our gear together. Headphones, sunglasses, and coolers. Headed toward the track and made it 30 yards and guess what....forgot the tickets in the car. Can you see where this day is going? Made it into the chaos and the first place we went was to the vendors trailers. As I do not have a favorite driver (actually I guess it is Dale, Jr. but he doesn't drive for Budweiser anymore) we toured all of the trailers. Jack, the racing veteran, suggested I invest in a seat cushion. He told me to get the noise cancelling headphones with built in AM/FM radio the week before. GREAT INVESTMENT. So back to the vendors. I settled on a Dale Earnhardt #3 seat cushion and purchased a Wrangler hat that features Dale Sr. and Jr. Time for the race.
Got to our seats. Then I made a trip to the concession stand for a famous Martinsville Speedway hot dog. I can now say I had one. It turned out to be one of those weird, dark red hot dogs. So add in a bag of salted peanuts in the shell, nachos, and 3 hot dogs (for Jack too) and it was "green, green, green, green,"
LOUD is all I can say. I had to ask Jack, "Do you look at all the cars or do you pick one?" It is hard to watch all of them. 110 laps in and next thing I know Jack is nudging me to wake up. Yes, I fell asleep at a loud race. I do it when I watch it on tv as well. Watch the beginning, fall asleep, and wake up for the finish.
I had a great time watching the fans. They are definitely passionate about their drivers. It is a short track, so when their driver came by they stand up and scream then sit down. Then 30 seconds later they do it again. This goes for 500 laps. When Jr. took the lead the stand began to rumble with excitement. He lead for a good while. His fans would stand and scream and wave down the track. When he lost the lead they stood up and showed their support to the new leader with middle fingers.
Denny Hamlin, Richmond native, won the race. Jack told me he "owns that track." Race over and we got to see all the intoxicated fans scream at their boyfriends for not walking back with them. Others yelling because their driver lost. Fun stuff.
Got to give credit to the Martinsville and State Police. They had the traffic moving beautifully and we were back on to Rt 220 within 30 minutes. Long ride home but in the end well worth the trip. It was the first time Jack and I have done something together. We had a great time. Worn out today but definitely something I would do again.
Oh yeah. I won these tickets from Kroger by using my Kroger card. So to all who read this post, check out your receipt. You never know what you might win.
Earnhardt rules and pink hotdogs suck!!
-Thomas